Bishop Matano announces 2020-21 pastoral appointments - Catholic Courier

Bishop Matano announces 2020-21 pastoral appointments

Bishop Salvatore R. Matano has announced the following pastoral appointments for 2020-21. They become effective June 30, 2020, unless otherwise noted.

  • Father Lee P. Chase from interim dean, Monroe West Deanery, to dean, Monroe West Deanery.
  • Father William G. Coffas to pastor, Holy Cross, Rochester, while remaining pastor of Our Mother of Sorrows, Greece.
  • Father William G. Darling from pastor, Our Lady of the Snows, Weedsport, to senior status.
  • (Father) B. Nathan Davis (scheduled for ordination to the priesthood on June 29, 2020) to administrator, St. Alban’s Church of the Ordinariate of the Chair of St. Peter, and parochial vicar, St. Kateri Tekakwitha, Irondequoit.
  • Father Hoan Dinh from parochial vicar, St. Louis, Pittsford, to assisting priest, St. Louis, Pittsford.
  • Father John A. Firpo reappointed pastor, St. Charles Borromeo, Greece.
  • Father John F. Gagnier from pastor, Holy Cross, Rochester, to parochial administrator, St. Elizabeth Ann Seton, Hamlin.
  • Father John H. Hayes reappointed pastor, St. Martin de Porres, Caledonia.
  • Father Stephen N. Karani reappointed pastor, Holy Family Catholic Community, Wayland.
  • Father Steven Lape reappointed pastor, St. Mary of the Lake, Watkins Glen, and St. Benedict Chapel, Odessa.
  • Father Frank E. Lioi to pastor, Our Lady of the Snow, Weedsport, while remaining pastor of St. Mary, Auburn, and Sts. Mary and Martha, Auburn,
  • Father Joseph J. Martuscello, who was ordained June 13, 2020, to parochial vicar, Our Mother of Sorrow, Greece, and Holy Cross, Rochester.
  • Father Joseph P. McCaffrey reappointed pastor, Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Brockport.
  • Father Kevin E. McKenna reappointed rector, Sacred Heart Cathedral, Rochester.
  • Father Michael D. Merritt from parochial vicar, St. Francis and St. Clare, Waterloo, to parochial vicar, St. Joseph the Worker Parish, Clyde; St. Michael Parish, Newark; and Blessed Trinity Catholic Community, Wolcott.
  • Father Justin D. Miller to parochial vicar, Our Lady of the Snow, Weedsport, while remaining parochial vicar at St. Mary Parish, Auburn, and Sts. Mary and Martha Parish, Auburn,
  • Father William A. Moorby reappointed pastor, Good Shepherd Catholic Community, Aurora.
  • Father Anthony P. Mugavero reappointed pastor, Holy Apostles, Rochester.
  • Father Anthony B. Nketiah from parochial vicar, Our Mother of Sorrows, Greece, and now awaiting an assignment from his diocesan bishop (the Diocese of Konongo-Mampong, Ghana).
  • Father William V. Spilly from pastor, St. Elizabeth Ann Seton, Hamlin, to senior status.
  • Sister Sheila Stevenson, RSM, reappointed pastoral administrator, St. Marianne Cope, Henrietta.
  • Father Michael W. Twardzik from parochial vicar, Holy Family Catholic Community, Wayland, to senior status.
  • Father Michael G. Upson from interim administrator, St. Christopher, North Chili, to parochial administrator at St. Christopher.
  • Father Matthew J. Walter from parochial vicar, St. Joseph the Worker, Clyde; St. Michael, Newark; and Blessed Trinity Catholic Community, Wolcott, to parochial vicar, St. John of Rochester, Fairport.

[Father Robert Gaudio resigned as pastor of St. Christopher, North Chili, effective June 8, 2020. He continues on administrative leave, which became effective Feb. 22, 2019.]

Tags: Diocesan Appointments
Copyright © 2024 Rochester Catholic Press Association, Inc. All rights reserved. Linking is encouraged, but republishing or redistributing, including by framing or similar means, without the publisher's prior written permission is prohibited.

Choose from news (Monday), leisure (Thursday) or worship (Saturday) — or get all three!

No, Thanks

Catholic Courier Newsletters