Monroe County East Catholic News Stories - Catholic Courier

Monroe County East

Articles in the Monroe County East collection include local news and feature coverage of events, parishes and people in the City of Rochester, Brighton, East Rochester, Fairport, Henrietta, Irondequoit, Pittsford, Webster, NY.

Monroe County East includes parishes in the City of Rochester such as Sacred Heart Cathedral; the Southeast Rochester Catholic Community (Blessed Sacrament, St. Boniface, St. Mary’s); St. Stanislaus; St. Frances Xavier Cabrini (Annunciation, Corpus Christi, St. Michaels); St. Monica Church and Emmanuel Church of the Deaf; Immaculate Conception/St. Bridget’s; and St. Anne, which is clustered with Our Lady of Lourdes in Brighton. Also in Brighton is the community of Our Lady Queen of Peace/St. Thomas More.

Suburbs on the county’s east side are also included. East Rochester is home to St. Jerome. Fairport includes the parishes of Church of the Assumption, Church of the Resurrection, and St. John of Rochester. Pittsford includes Church of the Transfiguration, which is clustered with St. Catherine of Siena in Mendon, and St. Louis Church. Holy Spirit and St. Joseph’s are in Penfield. Holy Trinity and St. Paul are in Webster, while St. Rita is in West Webster. Irondequoit includes Saint Kateri (Christ the King, St. Cecilia, St. Margaret Mary. Henrietta is home to St. Marianne Cope Parish.

Monroe County as whole, including the city for which the diocese is named, forms the northwestern corner of the Diocese of Rochester’s 12-county area. It is one of three regional areas within the diocese for which the Courier provides local news coverage, along with the Finger Lakes and the Southern Tier.


Choose from news (Monday), leisure (Thursday) or worship (Saturday) — or get all three!

No, Thanks

Catholic Courier Newsletters